Ingredients Derived from Wheat

In general, a gluten-free diet excludes all ingredients derived from wheat. There are a few ingredients, however, that are extensively processed and do not contain any proteins in the final product. As a result, these ingredients are safe for people eating gluten free.

Glucose Syrup from Wheat

Glucose syrup is a purified concentrated water-soluble solution of sugars. It can be made from a variety of starches including corn, potato and wheat. The manufacturing process renders glucose syrups gluten free regardless of the source of starch, so glucose syrup made from wheat is safe for people with celiac disease.

Maltodextrin

Maltodextrins are almost always derived from corn and therefore, are gluten free. Rarely, it may be derived from wheat. Using the most sensitive, scientifically validated R5 Elisa tests, no gluten has been detected in wheat-based maltodextrin and it is safe for people with celiac disease.

Distilled Alcohol

Rye whisky, scotch whisky, gin, and vodka are distilled from a mash of fermented grains. Rum is distilled from sugar cane. Brandy is distilled from wine and bourbon is distilled from a grain mash including corn. Since the distillation process does not allow proteins to enter the final product, distilled alcohols are gluten free.