What is the current scoop on oats?

by SueN on July 2, 2013

This item is under review. A new literature review was posted by Health Canada on November 15th, 2014. This item will be updated after the CCA’s Professional Adviosory Board position is updated.

Most people with celiac disease can eat limited amounts of oats, as long as those oats are not contaminated with barley and wheat. This means you must purchase the brands of oats that are especially grown, processed, and packaged to avoid contamination, not just the standard store brands.

As of October 2011, there are four brands of oats available in Canada that are safe for people with celiac disease: Lara’s from Cream Hill Estate, OnlyOats from Avena Foods, Glutenfreeda, and Bob’s Red Mill Oats (only the ones marked as gluten free or wheat free.

Not all people with celiac disease can tolerate oats and we don’t know why yet. If you try them, make sure you area feeling well and are not introducing other new foods at the same time so that you can be sure that any reaction is from the oats and not from some other food.

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: