What to Question
|Milk and Alternatives||Cheese spreads or sauces (e.g. nacho), seasoned (flavoured) shredded cheese||May be thickened/stabilized with wheat flour or wheat starch.
Seasonings may contain hydrolyzed wheat protein, wheat flour or wheat starch.
|Flavoured or frozen yogurt||May contain granola, cookie crumbs or wheat bran.||Grain Products||Buckwheat flour||Pure buckwheat flour is gluten-free. Sometimes buckwheat flour may be mixed with wheat flour.|
|Rice and corn cereals||May contain barley malt, barley malt extract or barley malt flavouring.|
|Buckwheat pasta||Some “Soba” (Japanese noodles) contain pure buckwheat flour which is gluten-free but others may also contain wheat flour.|
|Seasoned or flavoured rice mixes||Seasonings may contain hydrolyzed wheat protein, wheat flour or wheat starch or have added soy sauce that contains wheat.|
|Multi-grain or flavoured rice or corn cakes or rice crackers||Multi-grain products may contain barley and/or commercial oats. Some contain soy sauce (may be made from wheat) or seasonings containing hydrolyzed wheat protein, wheat flour or wheat starch.|
|Meat and Alternatives||Baked beans||Some are thickened with wheat flour.|
|Imitation fish products (e.g. surimi, imitation crab)||May contain fillers made from wheat starch.|
|Seasoned or dry roasted nuts or seeds||May contain hydrolyzed wheat protein, wheat flour or wheat starch.|
|Processed meat products: deli or luncheon meats, hot dogs||May contain fillers made from wheat. May contain seasonings made from hydrolyzed wheat protein, wheat flour or wheat starch.|
|Meat substitutes (e.g. vegetarian burgers, sausages)||Often contain seasonings made from hydrolyzed wheat protein, wheat flour or wheat starch.|
|Vegetables and Fruits||Dates||May be dusted with commercial oat flour, dextrose or rice flour.|
|French fried potatoes||Often cooked in the same oil as gluten-containing products resulting in cross-contamination.|
|Soups||Canned soups, dried soup mixes, soup bases and bouillon cubes||May contain wheat flour or hydrolyzed wheat protein. May contain noodles or barley. Cream soups are often thickened with wheat flour. Seasonings may contain hydrolyzed wheat protein, wheat flour or wheat starch.|
|Fats and Oils||Salad Dressings||May contain wheat flour, malt vinegar or soy sauce (made from wheat). Seasonings may contain hydrolyzed wheat protein, wheat flour or wheat starch.|
|Cooking Spray||Some types have added wheat flour or wheat starch.|
|Desserts and Sweets||Cake icings or frostings||Wheat starch may be added.|
|Snack Foods||Seasoned potato chips, taco (corn) chips, nuts and soy nuts.||Some potato chips contain wheat starch. Seasoning mixtures may contain hydrolyzed wheat protein, wheat flour or wheat starch.|
|Beverages||Flavoured or herbal teas or flavoured coffee||Some flavoured or herbal teas, coffee substitutes and other drinks may have barley malt flavouring. Some specialty coffees may contain a chocolate chip-like product that contains cookie crumbs.|
|Other||Baking Powder||Most brands contain cornstarch which is gluten-free but some brands contain wheat starch.|
|Specialty mustards, mustard flour and curry paste||Some brands contain wheat flour or wheat starch.|
Source: Adapted with permission from Gluten-Free Diet: A Comprehensive Resource Guide 2008 by Shelley Case, Dietitian.