Domino’s brought their gluten-free pizza crust to Canada this month, but they present customers with this disclaimer when you try to order the pizza:
Domino’s pizza made with a Gluten Free Crust is prepared in a common kitchen with the risk of gluten exposure. Therefore, Domino’s DOES NOT recommend this pizza for customers with celiac disease. Customers with gluten sensitivities should exercise judgment in consuming this pizza.
Right now we don’t know if small amounts of gluten are a problem for people with gluten sensitivity, the CCA does not recommend that anyone with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity consume pizzas from Domino’s.
According to company spokesman Barry Langhodge, the crust is gluten-free but they are NOT selling a gluten-free pizza. The crust is made in a dedicated gluten-free facility. It arrives at the restaurant individually wrapped and ready to cook from scratch, but there are no practices in place to avoid cross-contamination as the toppings are added, the pizza is cooked, and the pizza is boxed up.
The CCA hopes to work with the company to develop policies that will allow them to sell a gluten-free pizza, not just a gluten-free crust.