CCA response to CFIA Beer Consultation
In July 2017, the CCA was invited to comment on our concerns with beer labelling. Members of our Professional Advisory Council prepared a response on behalf of the CCA Board of Directors.
Here are the three recommendations made:
The Canadian Celiac Association strongly recommends that the names of all gluten sources, priority allergens and added sulphites, when used in standardized beers, be declared on each individual container of beer as well as the outside packaging of these products.
To avoid misleading consumers, the Canadian Celiac Association recommends the use of the term ‘gluten- free beer’ for beer-type beverages that utilize gluten-free grains and ingredients such as sorghum, millet, rice, etc.
Beers made with malted barley and a special clarifying agent should not be lablelled “gluten-free beer” because the clarifying agent interferes with the accuracy of the R5 Competive ELISA that detects gluten contamination.
If you would like to read the complete response, please see contact us.