DONATE

Gluten-containing Ingredients - Appendix A

Gluten is found in grains like, wheat, barley, rye and triticale. These grains are also known by other names you need to know to avoid adding them to a menu. Also outlined below are gluten-containing derivatives to be avoided. 

Wheat

  • Atta
  • Bulgur
  • Couscous
  • Dextrin
  • Durum
  • Einkorn
  • Emmer
  • Farina
  • Farro
  • Freekeh
  • Fu
  • Graham Flour
  • Hydrolyzed wheat protein
  • Kamut
  • Matzoh/Matzah
  • Seitan
  • Semolina
  • Spelt
  • Triticale
  • Wheat bran
  • Wheat flour
  • Wheat gluten
  • Wheat starch

Barley

  • Barley (flour, flakes, pearls)
  • Brewers Yeast
  • Malt
  • Malted barley
  • Malted barley flour
  • Malted milk
  • Malt extract
  • Malt flavouring
  • Malt vinegar

Rye

  • Rye Flour

Oats*

*Only oats with a gluten-free claim are allowed.

  • Oat bran
  • Oat flour
  • Oatmeal
  • Oats

Adapted from Gluten Free: The Definitive Resource Guide Revised Edition, 2022, by Shelley Case, Dietitian. www.shelleycase.com Used with Permission.

The Gluten-free Diet - Appendix B

Gluten-Free Diet by Food Groups

Food Category

Dairy

Foods Allowed

Milk, buttercream, cream, sour cream, whipping cream, most ice creams, yogurts, frozen yogurts.

Dips with cream cheese or sour cream, cheese sauces, cheese spread, seasoned/ flavoured shredded cheese or cheese blends. 

Foods to question

Cottage cheese, cream cheese (plain), hard cheese, (e.g cheddar, mozzarella, Parmesan, Swiss), soft cheese, (e.g brie, blue cheese, Gorgonzola, Roquefort, Stilton, processed cheese, processed cheese foods.

Foods to avoid

Malted milk, packaged granola-topped yogurt, ice cream and frozen yogurt made with gluten-filled ingredients like brownies, cookie dough or crumbs, ice cream cakes.

Specialty cheeses made with barley-based beer

Non-diary, plant-based alternatives

Foods Allowed

Most non-diary beverages like coconut, flax, hemp, gluten-free oats, nuts, pea, potato, quinoa, rice and soy with allowed ingredients. 

Soy-based cheese and cream cheese, coconut or soy yogurt, ice cream made with no-dairy beverages like cashew, coconut, rice and soy. 

Foods to question

Foods to avoid

Non-dairy beverages (e.g., coconut, flax, hemp, nuts, oats [NOT labeled “gluten-free”], potato, quinoa, rice, soy) made WITH barley malt, barley malt extract or barley malt flavouring

Non-dairy oat beverages [NOT labeled “gluten-free”] made WITHOUT barley malt, barley malt extract or barley malt flavouring.

Grains*

Buy grains, flours, legumes and seeds (flax, hemp) with a gluten-fee claim

Foods Allowed

Amaranth, buckwheat, corn, kañiwa, millet, gluten-free oats, quinoa, rice (black, brown, glutinous/sweet, green, purple, red, white), sorghum, teff, wild rice

Foods to question

Foods to avoid

Barley, rye, triticale, wheat (all types including durum, einkorn, emmer, farro, kamut, spelt), as well as different forms of wheat (bulgur, couscous, freekeh, wheat-based semolina)

Oats (groats, steel-cut) not labelled “gluten free”

Flours, brans, germ and meal*

Buy grains, flours, legumes and seeds (flax, hemp) with a gluten-fee claim

Foods Allowed

Amaranth flour, coconut flour, corn (bran, germ, flour), cornmeal, legume flours (bean, chickpea /garbanzo bean, Garfava™, lentil, pea, soy), mesquite flour, millet flour,

Nut flours (almond, cashew, chestnut, hazelnut, macadamia, peanut, pecan, walnut)

Gluten- free oat flour, potato flour, quinoa flour, rice flour (brown, glutinous/sweet, white), rice bran, rice polish, sorghum flour, sweet potato flour, teff flour, wild rice flour

Foods to question

Buckwheat flour

Items made with buckwheat flour

Foods to avoid

Wheat flours (atta, graham, white, whole wheat)

Wheat bran, wheat farina, wheat germ, wheat gluten

Flours made from barley, einkorn, emmer, kamut, rye, spelt, triticale

Oats (bran, flour, rolled oats / oatmeal) NOT labelled “gluten free”

Starches​

Foods Allowed

Arrowroot, corn, potato, sago, tapioca (cassava/manioc), taro (dasheen/eddo)

Foods to question

Foods to avoid

Barley starch

Wheat starch****

***Most wheat starches contain high levels of gluten protein. However, some gluten-free products may contain specially processed wheat starch

Grains and Grain-based foods*​

*Buy grains, flours, legumes and seeds (flax, hemp) with a “gluten-free” claim.

Hot Cereals (labeled “gluten free”)

Foods Allowed

Amaranth, buckwheat grits (cream of buckwheat), 
corn grits, cornmeal, cream of rice (brown, white), hominy grits, millet grits, gluten-free rolled oats / oatmeal and steel-cut oats, quinoa, quinoa flakes, rice flakes

Foods to question

Foods to avoid

Hot cereals and infant cereals made with wheat, einkorn, emmer, farro, kamut, spelt, rye, triticale, barley and/or regular oats (rolled oats/oatmeal, steel cut)

Cold cereals (labeled gluten-free)

Foods Allowed

Puffed gluten-free grains (e.g., amaranth, buckwheat, corn, millet, rice, sorghum), gluten- free cornflakes, gluten-free crisp rice, gluten-free granola (with or without gluten-free oats), rice flakes, soy-based cereals, other cereals with allowed ingredients

Foods to question

Foods to avoid

Cold cereals and infant cereals made with wheat, einkorn, emmer, farro, kamut, spelt, rye, triticale, barley and/or regular oats

Cereals made with added barley malt, barley malt extract or barley malt flavouring

Pastas (labeled ‘gluten free’)

Foods Allowed

Macaroni, noodles, spaghetti and other pasta shapes made from: corn; legumes (dried beans, chickpea/garbanzo beans, lentils, peas and soybeans); millet; potato; quinoa; rice; wild rice

Foods to question

Buckwheat pasta

Foods to avoid

Pastas (e.g., chow mein noodles, orzo, udon) made with wheat and/or other not-allowed ingredients

Rice

Foods Allowed

Plain rice (black, brown, glutinous/sweet, green, purple, red, white), wild rice

Foods to question

Seasoned (flavored) rice mixes, rice pilafs

Foods to avoid

Miscellaneous

Foods Allowed

Gluten-free tortillas/wraps, gluten-free pizza dough/crust

Gluten-free communion hosts/ wafers, gluten-free matzoh/ matzo/matzah

Foods to question

Corn tacos, corn tortillas/wraps, polenta

Low-gluten communion hosts/ wafers

Foods to avoid

Wheat flour tacos and tortillas/ wraps, pizza dough and crust made with not-allowed ingredients;  tabouli/tabbouleh

Regular communion hosts/ wafers; matzoh/matzo/matzah made with wheat flour

Meats & Alternatives

Foods Allowed

Meat, Poultry, Fish, Seafood

Plain (fresh, frozen, canned) meat, poultry, fish, seafood; gluten-free breaded meat, poultry, fish, seafood

Foods to question

Deli/luncheon meats (e.g., bologna, ham, salami, turkey), frankfurters/wieners, sausages; meat and sandwich spreads; pâtés

Burgers (meat, fish, chicken, turkey), meat loaf, ham (ready- to-cook), dried meats (e.g., beef jerky)

Imitation bacon bits

Foods to avoid

Meat, poultry, fish and seafood breaded in not-allowed ingredients; frozen chicken breasts injected with chicken broth (containing not-allowed ingredients); frozen turkey basted or injected with hydrolyzed wheat protein; frozen or fresh poultry with bread stuffing

Canned fish in vegetable broth containing hydrolyzed wheat protein

Eggs

Foods Allowed

Plain whole eggs (fresh, frozen, liquid, powder), plain omelets, scrambled eggs

Plain egg whites (frozen, liquid, powder)

Foods to question

Foods to avoid

Omelettes and scrambled eggs made with gluten-containing ingredients

Legumes

Foods Allowed

Beans (black, kidney, navy, pinto, white), chickpeas / garbanzo beans, lentils, peas, soybeans

* NOTE:

Purchase legumes with a “gluten-free” claim.

Foods to question

Canned beans in sauce

Foods to avoid

Nuts & Seeds

Foods Allowed

Plain or salted nuts and seeds (chia, poppy, pumpkin, sesame, sunflower)

* NOTE:

Purchase flax and hemp seeds with a “gluten-free” claim.

Foods to question

Seeds (flax, hemp)

Seasoned or dry-roasted nuts, chickpeas, pumpkin seeds and sunflower seeds

Nut and seed butters (e.g., almond, hazelnut, peanut, sesame, sunflower)

Foods to avoid

Meat Alternatives​

Foods Allowed

Plain tofu

Foods to question

Flavoured tofu, tempeh, textured soy protein (TSP) / textured vegetable protein (TVP)

Plant-based meat substitutes (e.g., burgers, meatballs, sausages)

Foods to avoid

Fu, seitan

Plant-based meat substitutes made with wheat gluten and/or other not-allowed ingredients

Fruits ​

Foods Allowed

Plain fruits and juices (fresh, frozen, canned)

Foods to question

Dates, fruits with sauces, fruit juices and smoothies with barley grass or wheat grass

Foods to avoid

Vegetables​

Foods Allowed

Plain vegetables and juices (fresh, frozen, canned)

Foods to question

French-fried potatoes, hash browns and potato wedges with seasonings or “fillers”

Vegetables in sauces

Foods to avoid

French-fried potatoes, hash browns and potato wedges cooked in oil also used for gluten-containing products (e.g., battered chicken and fish)

Scalloped potatoes containing wheat flour, battered deep-fried vegetables

Soups​

Foods Allowed

Gluten-free bouillon cubes, dried soup bases, prepared broths, cream soups and stocks; homemade broth, soups and stocks made from allowed ingredients

Foods to question

Prepared broths, soups and stocks; dried soup bases, soup mixes, bouillon cubes

Foods to avoid

Broths, soups and stocks made with not-allowed ingredients; dried soup bases, soup mixes and bouillon cubes containing hydrolyzed wheat protein, wheat starch and/or wheat flour

Snack Foods​

Foods Allowed

Plain crackers made with nuts, rice or other gluten-free grains; plain rice cakes; corn cakes; plain popcorn, potato chips, soy nuts, taco (corn) chips; gluten- free pretzels

Foods to question

Seasoned (flavoured) crackers, rice cakes, corn cakes, potato chips, soy nuts, taco (corn) chips; wasabi peas

Foods to avoid

Potato chips made with wheat flour, barley malt flour, wheat starch and/or malt vinegar; pretzels made with wheat flour

Desserts​

Foods Allowed

Cakes, cookies, muffins, pies and pastries made with allowed ingredients; gluten-free bread pudding; gluten-free flourless cake; gluten-free ice cream cones, wafers and waffles

Custard, gelatin-desserts, milk puddings, sherbet, sorbet

Foods to question

Flourless cakes

Crème brûlée

Foods to avoid

Bread pudding, cakes, cookies, muffins, pies, pastries, ice cream cones, wafers and waffles made with not-allowed ingredients

Sugars, Candies and Other Sweets​

Foods Allowed

Agave nectar/syrup, corn syrup, honey, jam, jelly, marmalade, maple syrup, molasses

Brown sugar, coconut sugar, confectioner’s/ icing sugar, turbinado sugar, white sugar

Chocolates and chocolate bars made from allowed ingredients; gluten-free licorice, marshmallows, whipped toppings

Foods to question

Honey powder

Icings and frostings, sweet sauces/toppings

Chocolates, chocolate bars, hard candies, Smarties®

Foods to avoid

Licorice and other candies made with not-allowed ingredients

Beverages​

Foods Allowed

Cocoa, coffee (instant or ground; regular or

decaffeinated), flavored waters, soft drinks, tea

Foods to question

Coffee substitutes, flavoured coffees, flavored and herbal teas, hot chocolate mixes

Foods to avoid

Coffee substitutes made with not-allowed ingredients (e.g., Postum), malt-based beverages (e.g., Ovaltine [chocolate malt and malt flavors])

Fats​

Foods Allowed

Butter, margarine, lard, shortening, vegetable oils, mayonnaise, salad dressings with allowed ingredients

Foods to question

Baking/cooking spray, salad dressings, suet

Foods to avoid

Salad dressings made with not- allowed ingredients

Condiments Sauces/Dips​

Foods Allowed

Herbs, pepper, salt, spices

Ketchup, mustard (plain prepared), mustard flour (pure), olives, pickles (in clear brine), relish, tomato paste, vinegars (apple cider, balsamic, distilled white/spirit, pure rice, red wine, white wine)

Gluten-free barbecue sauce, gluten-free miso, gluten-free soy sauce, gluten-free tamari soy sauce, gluten-free teriyaki sauce, other sauces and gravies made with allowed ingredients

Foods to question

Seasonings, seasoning blends/ mixes

Curry paste

Mustards (specialty prepared), mustard flour (prepared), mustard pickles, rice vinegar

Barbecue sauces, cooking sauces, Worcestershire sauce

Foods to avoid

Malt vinegar, miso (made with barley and/or wheat)

Soy sauce, tamari soy sauce or shoyu soy sauce (made with wheat); teriyaki sauce (made with soy sauce containing wheat); other sauces and gravies made with hydrolyzed wheat protein, wheat flour and/ or wheat starch

Miscellaneous​

Foods Allowed

Baking chocolate (pure), carob chips and powder, chocolate chips, cocoa (plain), coconut

Baking soda, cream of tartar, monosodium glutamate (MSG), vanilla (pure), vanilla extract (artificial/imitation), vanilla extract (pure), natural vanilla flavor

Guar gum, xanthan gum, psyllium husks

Yeast (active dry, baker’s,
 
nutritional, torula)

Foods to question

Seasoned (flavoured) crackers, rice cakes, corn cakes, potato chips, soy nuts, taco (corn) chips; wasabi peas

Baking powder, koji, Barley grass and wheat grass

 Autolyzed yeast, Autolyzed yeast extract

Foods to avoid

Potato chips made with wheat flour, barley malt flour, wheat starch and/or malt vinegar; pretzels made with wheat flour

Tempura (breaded with wheat flour)

Brewer’s yeast

Adapted from Gluten Free: 
The Definitive Resource Guide  Revised Edition
, 2023, by Shelley Case, Dietitian. www.shelleycase.com 
Used with Permission.  

Learn to Read Labels - APPENDIX C

Read every label, every time. 

That’s the only way to be sure your ingredients and consumer packaged goods are  safe for those with celiac disease and gluten intolerance. 

Unexpected Sources of Gluten - APPENDIX D

Thickening Agents in Gluten-Free Cooking - APPENDIX E

Substitutions for 1 Tablespoon of Wheat Flour for Thickening

Thickener

Amount

Cooking Instructions

Suggested Use

Cornstarch

1 ½ tsp. 

Mix with a cold liquid to create a smooth slurry before adding to other liquid. Bring to a gentle boil for a few minutes while stirring constantly. 

Thickened liquid becomes translucent and shiny, thickens further when cooled. 

Fruit and savoury sauces, fruit pies and cobbler, puddings, stir fries 

Potato Starch 

1 ½ tsp. 

Mix with small amount of cold liquid then stir constantly (lumps easily) while adding to other liquid. Do not boil or overcook. 

Yields a translucent thickened liquid. 

Gravies, sauces, soups, stews.

Tapioca Starch 

1 tbsp. 

Mix with small amount of cold liquid and add to other liquid during last five minutes of cooking, stirring constantly. 

Imparts a transparent and glossy appearance, produces a thick soft gel when cooled. 

Pie filling, puddings, stir fries 

Chickpea/ Garbanzo Bean Flour 

1 tbsp. 

Make a roux for thickening sauces and gravies by combining flour with butter or oil; add roux to soup or stew at the end of cooking time. Will thicken completely after 2-3 minutes of boiling. 

Is yellow/tan in colour and produces cloudy appearance, smooth texture and slight bean-like taste. 

Gravies, savoury sauces, soups, stews 

Rice Flour (Brown) 

1 tbsp. 

Mix with small amount of cold liquid before using. Will thicken liquid after five or more minutes of boiling. 

Gives a cloudy appearance and grainy texture. 

Gravies, soups, stews 

Rice Flour (Sweet) 

1 tbsp. 

Make a roux for thickening sauces and gravies by combining flour with butter or oil. Add roux to soup or stew at the end of cooking time. Will thicken after five minutes of boiling.

Yields an opaque and shiny appearance.

Gravies, sweet and savoury sauces, puddings, soups, stews

Sorghum Flour 

1 tbsp. 

Make a roux for thickening sauces and gravies by combining flour with butter and oil. Add roux to soup or stew at end of cooking time. Will thicken after 2-3 minutes of boiling. 

Gravies, sauces, soups, stews 

Gelatin (unflavoured) 

1 ½ tsp. 

Soften a small amount in cold water then heat until liquid is clear before using. 

Thickness/firmness of final dish will range from semi- soft to extra firm depending on amount of gelatin used 

Cheesecakes, puddings 

Quick Cooking Tapioca 

1 ½ tsp. 

For fruit pies or cobblers/crisps, add dry tapioca granules to fruit and let stand for 10-20 minutes before baking. 

Fruit crisps, pies, tapioca pudding 

Adapted from Gluten Free: The Definitive Resource Guide Revised Edition, 2022, by Shelley Case, Dietitian. www.shelleycase.com Used with Permission. 

Meal and Snack Suggestions

Category

Suggestions

Breakfast

Cereals 

  • Gluten-free cold cereal e.g., gluten-free corn flakes with flax or granola served with milk or yogurt 
  • Gluten-free hot cereal e.g. single packets of gluten free oats with flax and fruit 

Bagels, Breads, English Muffins and Muffins 

  • Gluten-free toast or muffin with yogurt and fruit 
  • Toasted gluten-free bagel or English muffin with peanut butter and banana 
  • Only use toast if you have access to a dedicated gluten-free toaster 
  • It is very difficult to provide palatable toast unless the patient/resident is consuming it immediately after toasting. If this is not possible utilize muffins or cereal to improve quality. 

Eggs 

  • Scrambled, boiled, omelet, with toast and fruit 
  • Gluten-free breakfast wrap with eggs, or tofu scramble 
  • Western omelet (chopped peppers, onions and cheese) with potatoes 

Pancakes and Waffles 

  • Gluten-free French toast (great way to use older bread) 
  • Gluten-free waffles with fruit salad 
  • Gluten free pancakes with peanut butter and banana or syrup and fruit salad 

Miscellaneous 

  • Fruit smoothie 

Lunch

Soups 

  • Gluten-free soup with gluten-free crackers and cheese 
  • Gluten-free soup with grilled cheese gluten-free sandwich 

Salads

  • Dark green leafy salad with vegetables and protein served with gluten-free crackers 
  • Gluten free pasta salad with beans (e.g., black, kidney, garbanzo), vegetables and protein 
  • Quinoa salad with vegetables and seeds or nuts 

Pizzas and Pasta

  • Gluten-free pasta and cheese with raw vegetables 
  • Gluten-free pasta with tomato-based sauce and cheese, served with salad 
  • Mini gluten free pizzas (English muffin with tomato sauce, toppings and cheese) 
  • Individual gluten-free pizza with toppings 

Legumes

  • Black bean chili served over baked potato with grated cheese
  • Lentil vegetable curry
  • Fresh bean salad

Miscellaneous

  • Baked stuffed potato with assorted toppings g., broccoli and cheese or ham and cheese
  • Bowls with gluten-free whole grains, protein and salad
  • Gluten-free crackers with cheese cubes, raw vegetables and fresh fruit plate
  • Gluten-free corn tortilla chips with cooked vegetables and melted cheese

Omelet with potato wedges

Sandwiches, Rolls and Wraps 

Gluten-free sandwich bread* or wraps/tortillas with: 

  • Chicken, egg salad, salmon, tuna with chopped celery, onion and spices 
  • Turkey, lettuce, tomato 
  • Hummus, spinach, cucumbers, tomato, red onion, peppers, shredded carrots 
  • Roast beef, lettuce and cheese 
  • Nut butter (e.g., almond, cashew, peanut) with jam or jelly 
  • Gluten-free ham and cheese 
  • Chicken, lettuce and gluten-free Caesar dressing 

Sandwich & wrap tips

  • Gluten-free breads tend to be dry unless toasted or warmed in a wax paper bag. If you don’t have a dedicated toaster or wax bags, offer alternatives e.g., muffins or wraps. 
  • Warm wraps slightly where possible to soften them. 
  • If you do serve gluten-free bread products that are somewhat dry, add moisture via avocado, salsa, mayonnaise, butter/margarine, mustard or other gluten-free spreads. *

Dinner

Pasta Meals 

  • Gluten-free pasta with meat or tomato sauce with cheese 
  • Gluten-free fettuccini alfredo 
  • Gluten-free vegetable and beef lasagna 

Meat, Poultry and Fish Meals 

  • Gluten-free barbeque chicken with vegetables and rice pilaf 
  • Gluten-free meatloaf with spaghetti squash and broccoli 
  • Grilled pork chops with roasted vegetables 
  • Salmon with rice and green beans 
  • Roast chicken or turkey with mashed potatoes and gluten-free gravy with glazed carrots 
  • Turkey meatballs with tomato sauce, rice and green peas and carrots 
  • Steak, baked potato and Greek salad 
  • Baked chicken or fish with roasted potatoes and coleslaw 
  • Roast pork, applesauce, baked sweet potato and steamed mixed vegetables 
  • Sweet and sour pork with rice and stir-fried vegetables 
  • Gluten-free chicken curry with rice and Greek yogurt 

Casseroles, Stews and Miscellaneous 

  • Gluten-free corn tortillas or tacos with ground beef, cheese, chopped lettuce and tomatoes 
  • Chili with gluten-free cornbread and cheese 
  • Stir-fry beef, pork or chicken with vegetables with rice 
  • Beef stew thickened with gluten-free starch (see Appendix B) 
  • Gluten free burrito with mashed black beans, cheese, corn, lettuce and tomatoes 
  • Creamed salmon or tuna with green peas on rice

Snacks

Nuts, Seeds and Grains 

  • Gluten-free crackers made with legumes, nuts or other gluten-free grains 
  • Pumpkin or sunflower seeds 
  • Unsalted nuts 
  • Dried fruit and nut mixes 
  • Rice cakes, corn cakes 
  • Potato chips, corn chips 
  • Gluten-free pretzels 
  • Gluten-free granola and yogurt 
  • Gluten-free cereal and milk 
  • Gluten-free bagel with cream cheese with fruit 
  • Gluten-free muffins (or mini muffins) 

Fruits/Vegetables 

  • Fresh fruits (e.g., pear, peach, apple, banana, orange, kiwi, melon) 
  • Canned fruit in water or juice (e.g. pears, peaches, pineapple, fruit cocktail) 
  • Dried fruits (e.g., raisins, apricots, cranberries, blueberries, mangoes) 
  • Applesauce (unsweetened) 
  • Sliced apple with peanut butter 
  • Baby carrots with hummus 
  • Celery with peanut butter and raisins 
  • Raw vegetables (e.g., green snap peas, sliced peppers, broccoli, cauliflower) and dip (yogurt and herbs or gluten-free salad dressing) 

Protein 

  • Boiled eggs 
  • Cheese, (e.g., cottage cheese, string cheese, block cheese) with gluten-free crackers 
  • Peanut butter with banana or apple 
  • Yogurt with fruit 
  • Ice cream 
  • Roasted chickpeas or hummus 
  • Bean chips 

Desserts 

  • Gluten-free cookies/brownies/cupcakes 
  • Gluten-free snack bar 
  • Custards/gluten-free puddings 
  • Sorbet/ice cream 
  • Gelatin desserts (jello) 

Beverages 

  • Coffee 
  • Tea 
  • Juices 
  • Soft drinks 
  • Cocoa 
  • Flavoured waters 

Adapted from Gluten Free: 
The Definitive Resource Guide  Revised Edition
, 2022, by Shelley Case, Dietitian. www.shelleycase.com 
Used with Permission. 

Gluten-Free Food Service: Tips for Cooks/Chefs 

People with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity require a strict gluten-free diet for life to be healthy. 

Research has found that many people with celiac disease have difficulty obtaining safe and palatable gluten-free meals and snacks in hospitals, retirement and long-term care facilities. For this reason, it is very important to carefully provide meals that are truly gluten-free to these patients to prevent serious symptoms and long-term complications. 

Check the label

Gluten free food preparation

  • Avoid BROW (Barley, rye, regular oats and wheat) ingredients and any ingredients made from these grains. 
  • Oats and oat-based products with a ‘gluten-free’ claim are allowed. 
  • do not use products that have a ‘May Contain’ statement for wheat, barley or rye unless the product also has a ‘gluten-free’ claim. 

Follow standard recipes. If substitutions need to be made, check that the alternate item is ‘gluten-free’.

Try making existing menu items gluten-free (e.g use gluten-free soy sauce, gluten-free soup and gravy bases, thicken with gluten-free flours). See the table above for making gluten-free thickeners. 

Look for designated gluten-free symbols which take the guesswork out of label-reading.

Celiac Canada has its own trademark and certification program. 

Cross-Contamination

A small amount of gluten can make someone with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity very sick. 

Avoid cross contamination by:

  • Storing gluten-free foods/ingredients separately from gluten-containing foods. 
  • Label all containers clearly ‘gluten-free’.
  • Cook gluten-free foods separately from gluten-containing foods. Use a different surface for food preparation, different fryers, different sinks for cleaning etc.
  • Use clean utensils and equipment for gluten-free food preparation. 
  • Use a separate toaster. 
  • Use squeezable condiment containers or individual portion condiments to eliminate the chance of double-dipping. 
  • Cook gluten-free pasta in a separate pot with clean water. Use a separate clean pasta strainer. 
  • Do not use the same oil to fry gluten-containing and gluten-free food. 
  • When baking, ideally prepare gluten-free food items on separate days from other products or at least before gluten-containing foods to avoid the risk or airborne contamination. 
  • Label and seal gluten-free products. 

Gluten-Free Food Service: Tips for Food Service Workers 

People with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity require a strict gluten-free diet for life to be healthy. 

Research has found that many people with celiac disease have difficulty obtaining safe and palatable gluten-free meals and snacks in hospitals, retirement and long-term care facilities. For this reason, it is very important to carefully provide meals that are truly gluten-free to these patients to prevent serious symptoms and long-term complications. 

Reading labels

Cross-Contamination

  • Use gluten-free ingredients when preparing foods.  If in doubt ask your manager, supervisor or the dietitian in your facility.
  • Avoid BROW (Barley, rye, regular oats and wheat) ingredients and any ingredients made from these grains. 
  • Oats and oat-based products with a ‘Gluten-free’ claim are allowed. 
  • Do not sue products that have a ‘May Contain’ statement for wheat, barley or rye unless the product also has a ‘gluten-free’ claim. 

Look for designated gluten-free symbols which take the guesswork out of label-reading. Celiac Canada has its own trademark and certification program. 

  • A small amount of gluten can make someone with celiac disease or gluten-sensitivity very sick.
  • Avoid cross contamination by:
  • Ensuring all areas and equipment/utensils are clean. 
  • Using clean cloths to wipe counters and sanitize before you begin. 
  • Where possible prepare gluten-free foods in a separate area. If this is not possible, prepare gluten-free items BEFORE other foods. 
  • Use a sepearate strainer/colander for gluten-free foods. 
  • Cover and label all gluten-free foods. 
  • Store gluten-free foods above gluten-containing foods. 
  • Use a dedicated toaster for gluten-free toast.
  • Use squeezable condiment bottles or individual packages to avoid double-dipping. 

Service

  • Gluten-free meal trays should be clearly labelled and checked by a supervisor. 
  • Never add or change items on a gluten-free tray after it has been checked unless you absolutely sure the substitution or addition is also gluten-free. 
  • In dining rooms understand which items are gluten-free, deliver the gluten-free meals first where possible and tell the resident that the patient or their family have provided these meals to add variety and satisfaction. 
  • Clearly label food items as gluten-free to avoid error. 

Gluten-Free Food Service: Tips for Personal Support Workers and Nurses

People with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity require a strict gluten-free diet for life to be healthy. 

Research has found that many people with celiac disease have difficulty obtaining safe and palatable gluten-free meals and snacks in hospitals, retirement and long-term care facilities. For this reason, it is very important to carefully provide meals that are truly gluten-free to these patients to prevent serious symptoms and long-term complications. 

Communicating the gluten-free diet: Ordering, Service & Patient Monitoring.

  • If the patient/resident has celiac disease or gluten sensitivity, a gluten-free diet must be ordered. 
  • Request a dietitian assess the patient. If that’s not timely ask a supervisor from Nutrition/Food Service to visit the patient/resident to confirm their preferences. 
  • Understand that patients/residents may be anxious about eating foods they have not prepared as they know and have likely experienced the risks of getting sick from eating even a small amount of gluten. 
  • If providing trays, check that the tray tickets clearly states a gluten-free diet. 
  • If providing service in a dining room where the residents have choice, explain which items are gluten-free. If in doubt, ask a supervisor or other food service staff member knowledgeable about the gluten-free status of each food item. 
  • Serve meals in dining room to gluten-free residents before others, as this minimises the risk of cross-contamination and running out of gluten-free options. 
  • If there are self-service food bars, give the resident the option of going through the line first or having their meal served to them. 
  • Don’t use bulk condiments. Use squeeze bottles instead or individual portion packs. 
  • Document relevant information related to the gluten-free diet and the patient’s health on the medical record. 

Understanding what foods are gluten-free

Storing gluten-free food

  • Serve appropriate gluten-free snacks or packaged snacks labeld gluten-free. (See tables above) 
  • Avoid BROW (Barley, rye, regular oats and wheat) ingredients and any ingredients made from these grains. 
  • Oats and oat-based products with a ‘Gluten-free’ claim are allowed. 
  • Do not serve products that have a ‘May Contain’ statement for wheat, barley or rye unless the product also has a ‘gluten-free’ claim. 
  • If unsure about a food product, ask the dietitian or the Nutrition/Food Service manager/supervisor to clarify. 
  • Gluten-free food and snacks (including those brought-in by families) must be covered and labelled to avoid error and cross contamination. 
  • Store gluten-free foods on the top shelf of the refrigerator or cupboard. 
  • Perishable food brought from home should be discarded within a specific time frame e.g three days. 

Look for designated gluten-free symbols which take the guesswork out of label-reading. Celiac Canada has its own trademark and certification program. 

2021 Platinum Partner 2021 Gold Partner 2021 Platinum Partner More sponsors

Could It Be Celiac? Take the Symptom Checklist

Help us change
the lives of Gluten-Free Canadians.

thumb Donate thumb Volunteer thumb Partner thumb Work with Us

Get our monthly newsletter.

News, hot topics, tips, education & more.

Help support the CCA by visiting our shop.

All proceeds will go towards supporting Canadians with Celiac.

Have a question? Ask CCA!

    X
    QUESTIONS? Skip to content