The Canadian Celiac Association (CCA) is seeking nominations for its the national board of directors for the July 1, 2018 to June 31, 2020 term. Do you have the right stuff and the desire to give back?
-February 15, 2018
Having celiac disease can make healthy eating a challenge. The dietary restrictions of a gluten-free diet, and the symptoms from recently diagnosed celiac disease, can make it difficult to choose healthy dietary options and maintain physical fitness. Dr. Jennifer Zelin shares some tips…
-February 15, 2018
With the onset of “New Year’s Resolution” season, the Canadian Celiac Association is cautioning Canadians to look before they leap when it comes to adopting the gluten-free diet.
-January 16, 2017
The Canadian Celiac Association has learned that the words “gluten-free” will be removed from all Cheerios packages sold in Canada commencing January 2018.
-October 26, 2017
In July 2017, the CCA was invited to comment on our concerns with beer labelling. Members of our Professional Advisory Council prepared a response on behalf of the CCA Board of Directors.
The myth that frying wheat products makes them gluten-free is endangering people with Celiac disease.
General Mills Canada announced last week that five Cheerios flavours sold in Canada will carry a glutenfree claim. Original Cheerios, Honey Nut Cheerios, Multi-Grain Cheerios, Apple Cinnamon Cheerios and Chocolate Cheerios will be rolled out across the country in August. The Canadian Celiac Association (CCA) held a conference call with representatives of General Mills Canada and General Mills US on August 2nd 2016 to discuss our concerns with the gluten-free label on these products.
Canadian Celiac Association Professional Advisory Council position statement on consumption of oats by individuals with celiac disease
The safety of oats in individuals with celiac disease has been extensively investigated. Health Canada has reviewed the clinical evidence from numerous international studies and has concluded that the consumption of oats, uncontaminated with gluten from wheat, rye or barley, is safe for the vast majority of patients with celiac disease.